© 2014 Clerk & Comptroller, Palm Beach County

Under Florida law, email addresses are public records. If you do not want your email
address released in response to a public records request, do not send electronic
email to this entity. Instead, contact this office by phone or in writing.

Go back to: Home / Frequently Asked Questions

FAQ: Other Services

Marriage Licenses & Ceremonies

Marriage Licenses & Ceremonies - (561) 355-2986

Marriage Licenses/Requirements

Waiting Period/Validity of Marriage License

Premarital Courses

Marriages Involving Minors 17 Years of Age or Younger

Marriage Licenses Fees

Marriage Ceremonies

 

Marriage Licenses/Requirements
Where do I go to get a marriage license application?
What are the requirements for a marriage license?

Both parties must apply in person and each must provide one of the following forms of identification:

  • Driver’s license
  • Federal or state identification card
  • Passport showing your name and date of birth

Birth certificates or green cards are NOT acceptable for identification.

Additionally, both parties must read the Family Law Handbook prior to obtaining a marriage license.

If one or both parties were previously married, are there additional requirements?

You must provide the exact date that the marriage ended and how it was ended. Documentation (for death, divorce, annulments, etc.) is not required.

Do I have to be a resident of Florida to apply for a marriage license?

No.

Do I have to have a blood test?

No. 

How can I obtain copies or certified copies of my marriage license, after I am married?

You may search Palm Beach County's Official Records online and print an uncertified copy on your own printer for free. Certified copies may be obtained from the Clerk's Records Service Center by calling (561) 355-2976. If your license was obtained in another county or state, you must search the records in that county or state.

Waiting Period/Validity of Marriage License
Is there a waiting period for the marriage license to become valid?
  • There is a three (3) day waiting period after applying, if one or both of you are a Florida resident.
  • To waive the three (3) day waiting period and have your license immediately valid:
    • Both parties must attend and complete a premarital course from a registered provider
    • You must provide the certificate of completion when applying for your license
How long is my marriage license application valid?

You must get married within 60 days, or the application is not valid.

Premarital Courses
Where can I find a registered premarital course?

A directory of premarital course providers is available online (PDF) and at all Clerk & Comptroller court locations.

If I read the Marriage Handbook, is that the same as attending a premarital course?

No.

Marriages Involving Minors 17 Years of Age or Younger
Can I get married if I am 16 or 17 years of age?

You must provide the following:

  • Your birth certificate, showing your parents names
  • A parental consent form
  • Both parents must be present with their own identification on hand

Exception: If your parents are divorced and one parent has full custody:

  • Proof of custody must also be presented
  • The consent of only the custodial parent will be required in writing
Can minors UNDER 16 years old apply for a marriage license? And, what documentation is required?
  • Minors under age 16 are required to go to a judge who will grant or deny the marriage license.
  • If you are already the parents of a child, you must present the child’s birth certificate.
  • If you are the expected parents of a child, the pregnancy must be verified by a written statement from a licensed physician.
Marriage Licenses Fees
What is the marriage license fee?

Refer to Fees and Costs for current fees. There is a discount if you both attend a registered premarital course and provide the certificate of completion when you apply for your license.

Marriage Ceremonies
Can I get married at the courthouse?

Yes. You may get married at any Clerk & Comptroller courthouse location on or after the day your license becomes valid.  A fee is required for the ceremony. The fee can be paid by cash, check or money order. See Fees and Costs for current fee information.

 

FAQ

Contact Information

(561) 355-2996
Email Us
Fees & Costs
E-Newsletter Sign Up
Self Service Center
Time-Saving Tips